Indirectly related to derby

Something kinda cool happened today. After a hell of a busy month, my boss gave me a day off and I slept in. I woke up to daylight, got dressed and actually had enough time to properly look in a mirror. And for just about the first time since I put on the hoody and baggy jeans of puberty, I didn’t feel shit about my body.

Olivia-Newton-John-Physical-Destructions-Urban-Areobics-mixAll whiny emo heartbleed aside, the last six months have done absolute wonders for my body confidence. Don’t get me wrong, I’m nowhere near what a lot of people would class as athletic or super toned, but for me, this is good. I don’t even know if I’ve changed that much – I weigh the same, my thighs and calves are probably bigger in fact, but I feel healthy; I feel like when I move, my body responds quickly, and despite remaining distressingly uncoordinated, all this skating has made me much stronger and healthier.

And not just that. Everything that goes alongside roller derby. I think I’ve said it before, but I love how much no-one gives a shit what you weigh, what you look like, how you look on the track – if you’ve been wearing the same ripped leggings and sweaty pads for months. I feel like for once, people aren’t thinking anything other than how we can use our various skills, personalities and body types and to our advantage, and without exception.

Fucking love this sport.

Leave a Reply

