Derby Rules.

If Roller Derby were American Football, this would be me.

If Roller Derby were American Football, this would be me.

Second week of proper zebra training, and wow – hell of a lot of respect for all the Z’s out there! SO much to think about at breakneck speed. Really need to read up on the more specific derby rules.

Inside-pack this week, so lots of trying to skate backwards and not kill people, and not squash the NSOs standing in the middle. Still a bit dodgy on the balance side of things but super exciting – and got lots of practise skating backwards..! Finding the small space inside the track difficult to move fast in.

Called my first penalty this week, but later on failed to call an elbow-to-face resulting in blood splatters on the hall floor – tried hardest to look concerned and not like I thought it was the coolest thing ever. (I mean come on, how often does blood actually *spatter*!).

Also realised that even at full volume, my girl-voice just doesn’t travel in the training hall. I need some kind of mechanism that either raises or lowers my voice an octave, and doesn’t just make me sound angry-shouty!

(Oh, and the blood-splatter girl was fine – in fact, totally badass about it.)

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

