First time reffing…

First night of real hardcore skating at derby tonight and I am BUZZING! I could kind of explode right now, if I had a single joule of energy remaining… Eeeeeeeeeeee!

I did outside pack reffing. It was awesome. Doubly awesome from inside reffing ’cause you get to go real fast around the outside of the track and STOP FOR NO MAN. (Unless someone falls in front of you, then you have to stop or both of you die). Ah I can’t believe I mostly stayed upright – it felt sooooo fast, and I couldn’t really watch where I was going as my eyes were glued to the pack… (not that I did any actual reffing – I was mostly trying to keep up with them!)

I did fall on my arse once (and saw stars) but no more freaky broken bones, and also Infurno taught me to transition properly which is awesome for a) skating backwards and b) derby stops at speed. He is pretty much the pro at transitions on quads.

Oh man, I can’t get over how much I loved tonight. I love skating, I love it so much I want to marry it.

Oh, and because I’ve been really lazy with pics lately – HERE are my lovely skates that I love. Finally!

Sure Grip Rebel Derby skates

You’d be forgiven for thinking this one is the deformed finger… it’s actually not.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

