Why hello there Roller Derby!

Ohhhhhhhmygod wow, I just had my first skate with the Roller Girls – it was so cool! Terrifying – but cool πŸ˜€

I was pretty nervous to start with; I had this image of a bull plowing a herd of graceful antelope into a Jenga tower. But I managed to get through the warm-up exercises okay and didn’t take out a single antelope πŸ™‚ I also managed to stay upright the whole time (which is a fair achievement for me even *without* wheels), and I have come away feeling that my first time skating in a close group could have gone much worse. I’m largely attributing this to my new Tokzilla t-shirt, because it has the advantage of being both badass AND luminous yellow.

The team are awesome, especially as I’m not technically Fresh Meat yet (I’m training to be a ref). They’ve been giving me lots of tips like planting a toe stop and lowering my centre of gravity when standing, so as not to fall on my ass every time I fidget (- often!).

I have a long way to go before I’m even half as good as I need to be, but for now I’m just happy to be working hard at something that makes me feel really happy. Can’t wait ’til Wednesday.

(Also my finger is ‘good to go’ now, according to the fracture consultant. Which is delightful, but it still doesn’t look quite right…)

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

